Pressed Vs Loose Powder | MUA Loose Powder Review

Hi guys, 

This post is basically just gunna compare the two types of powder… As loose powder seems to be the craze at the moment, I wanted to see if it was worth the hype. Also I’m going to let you know what I think of the one I purchased.


I was debating yesterday whether to repurchase my go to powder, Rimmels Stay Matte Pressed Powder or try a loose powder. In every YouTube video I watch at the moment every one is going loose. Especially with the whole “baking” craze. So I looked for one to try, and actually theres not that many highstreet ones out there. I only wanted to go cheap to see if it suited me. I saw the MUA one has tons of good reviews and was only £3! Wasn’t really expecting much for that price to be honest.

The powder comes in one shade, which I assume is transparent but actually is coloured so I’m guessing wouldn’t work on dark skin. However it does blend out colourless. The tub is quite big, and has a lid with tiny holes to dispense a tiny amount. 

I haven’t tried baking but with the powder I’m not sure if it would work, as it isn’t white. I will give it a try though! But as a general powder it is so silky and smooth! It disappears once applied and leaves the skin matte, glowing and flawless. I was so suprised how good this product is. A little goes a very long way. 

As much as I like my pressed powder, it annoys me how quickly I go through it as I hit pan so quickly. Also it takes a lot of pressure to get a good amount on my brush and then on my face.

The loose powder is so easy and fast to apply. And on the rare super hot day I tested it (also when I had a big verification at work and was sweating like a crazy woman) my skin was still matte and glowing by the end of the day.

So I’m totally converted. And in the future I might try high end products, I hear Laura Merciers is good. But for now this is an absolute bargain.

Let me know your opinions and any good powder tips and tricks to try. 

Lauren xx

Leave a Reply

