Nyx soft matte lip cream (Transylvania) – Review 


I’ve been dying to do a review on this because before I bought it there were very few reviews, and they all varied so I thought I’d try it myself. Some people raved about it. Some people didn’t rate it. So this is my honest review.

Price: £5.99

Shop: Boots

Colour: Transylvania. I’ve been looking for a dark colour, I wanted a vivid dark plum shade to grunge up my outfit on a night out. It’s dark but not black, it’s slightly warm tone comes through.


Packaging: I know packaging isn’t the most important thing in the world but I wanted to include it. The tube is relatively small, with a twist cap and fluffy applicator. Although the size is handy it doesn’t look like it has that much product in. 

Smell: Caramelly sweet and pleasant. 

Application: The formula is creamy when first applied, and apples smoothly. However it becomes patchy and not dark enough so required a few coats. Also trying to get an accurate smooth line is impossible. Lip liner is a must but even with that I made a mess that stained and took all my foundation off. 

Texture: The product takes a while to dry but is very matte when it does. Only problem is it really drys your lips out so before exfoliate and moisturise.


Staying power: This is the bit I’m most disappointed with. It does not last. Granted I was out and drinking a lot but I had to apply SO MANY TIMES. And when it starts coming off it looks awful. Like your lips are bleeding and scabby. This makes reapplying hard. 

Verdict: Not worth your money. Yeah the colours great but I think they aimed for a liquid lipstick and didn’t make the mark. Higher end lipsticks are going to be a better formula I’m guessing. Good for in the day but not for long periods of time or when drinking. I think the lighter colours will be better.

Rating: 4/10
Hope you find this useful. Let me know if you’ve tried it. Also any better brands I could try?

Lauren x

2 thoughts on “Nyx soft matte lip cream (Transylvania) – Review 

  1. cutepeeks July 4, 2016 / 5:09 pm

    This was a very helpful review. I have been wondering about the Nyx soft matte lip cremes

    Liked by 1 person

  2. makeupwithmim July 4, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    I should try Kat Von D liquid lipsticks ! I tried a small sample, feel in love, and will go back and get a full size this time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

