Bring back red…


When I was rummaging around my lipstick collection this morning I realised that most lipsticks I wear nowadays are either nudes, Browns or pinks. Now we’re fully into spring, and summers on its way, I thought, why not add some colour? And then I found my red lipstick and gloss stash tucked away in my draw.

Red lips seem to have gone out of fashion. In the endless makeup tutorials I’ve watched in the past few months, none of them are featuring red. Has it lost its appeal? Is it tired and over done? Is nude the new go to lip?

But after I had a little play around with them I realised how much fun wearing red is. There’s something that makes you feel super glam and feminine about a red lip. You feel grown up and classy and fab. And it suits everyone.

So why don’t we bring red back? It doesn’t have to be as scary as you think. Why not go for a gloss like Smashbox gloss in disco rose or still a lip glaze in starfruit for a more subtle pop of colour? Or for a bolder sharper red add a liner like mua lip liner in brooding plum. Go for a pinky red like Barbra daleys lipstick in stylish. Or you could go for a dark red for a night out or special occasion like mua shade 8. Or go bright for summer like Ysl rouge volupte or Clinique cherry pop (below).

 

Let me know what you think.

Like and comment below!

Follow me on Instagram @laurenfairfax

Lauren x

3 thoughts on “Bring back red…

    • lozzyfairfax April 15, 2016 / 3:29 pm

      Thankyou! And yeah of course!

      Like

Leave a Reply

